Growing

I was never really much for gardening. I mean, I love fresh veggies and there are few things better than a ripe, sun-warmed tomato right from the vine. However, I usually am quite happy letting someone else (uh, usually Mom) do the work of planting, weeding, and tending. I certainly did my share of weeding as a kid but it was never something I really enjoyed that much.

This year, however, I’ve been bitten by the planting bug. Last weekend Mom and I filled egg carton after carton of potting soil and seeds. Kale, tomatoes, peas, pumpkin, several kinds of beans. Seeds are certainly less exciting at first than already started plants but there is still an anticipationg that’s exciting. They are currently resting on shelves in Mom’s garage hopefully germinating away. And one set of lettuce is sprouting: little tiny tendrils are poking up through the soil. The chive kit I planted is sitting on my window not doing much but I’ve been holding out hope!

The prospect of having loads of fresh veggies is pretty thrilling and we have grand plans to can boatloads of tomatoes, dry beans, and stores of squash. (One year Mom and my brother canned 50 pounds of tomatoes, just for the record, so this is not a far-fetched notion.) Preparing for winter and having food we’ve grown ourselves satisfies that pioneer part of ourselves, I think. Self-sufficiency is a lovely thing and knowing we can save money on store bought food is a nice added bonus (crossing fingers! Weather in Oregon is a fickle thing. This summer better be sunnier than last year!)

I also decorated my porch with a couple hanging baskets of plants (just greenery at the moment; it’s not very sunny out there). They are technically NOT hanging baskets at the moment as I  haven’t gotten hooks for hanging them but they are baskets and they do have plants!

I’ve also been working on my house lately and have made some major strides so next post may be some indoor activity (especially since good old Oregon is supposed to have rain all week…)

 

 

Leave a Reply

