Garden Update

Trying not to be super irritated that I already wrote this blog and then it was eaten by the ether…

Anyway, I have been totally delinquent in updating this blog but I’m trying to re-dedicate myself to regular updates. Those of you who have blogs: how do you keep them up? Do you have a schedule? Or is it more relaxed just whenever you feel like updating?

Back at the farm…well, ok, Mom’s backyard…we’ve been growing! Tomatoes, kale, tomatillos, pumpkin, beans! It’s been so much fun watching all those plants sprout and grow. A few of the tomatoes were from starters but most of th plants we grew from seed (as mentioned in previous blogs) and so it’s been especially satisfying. There is just something amazing about the whole process. I know, I’m gushing but I can’t help it!

Garden! This was a little while back. It’s much bigger now.
These were the first 2 ripe tomatoes! Mmmm

 

And my patio/balcony has been re-vamped with plants, as well. I don’t have any veggies out there but I do have flowers and greenery. Including a banana plant which is pretty sweet. They’ve had some ups and downs but things are looking pretty decent right about now. Two battles with aphids but I think I’ve beaten them. And the one fuschia did NOT like the hot weather so it’s looking a bit sad. But the two ferns that I thought had given up completely are coming back with new, strong, green leaves!

Banana, hosta, begonia…I also put some globe string lights up around the door, hence the mood lighting.
A few of the plants on the balcony: some marigolds, creeping jenny, fuchsia

Pretty pleased with how it’s all looking! I had hoped to find some patio furniture (just a chair, pretty much) but that hasn’t happened so maybe next year…In the meantime I’m enjoying the view of my plants. Just makes it seem a bit more like home and more inviting, I think.

Has anyone else been bitten by the gardening bug this year? What are you growing?

2 thoughts on “Garden Update

  1. Yay! I had a little garden this year, too, but the only reason it was successful was because my mom watered it! I’m looking forward to planting even more next year. Congrats on your successful garden!

    As for being consistent about blogging, I think it has a lot to do with people keeping you accountable. So keep blogging, Missy!

Leave a Reply

