Knitcation with Mabel and Moneta

Whew…It’s been a long while. I know, it’s a little shocking even to me that I’m posting!

OK, that’s out of the way. The focus of this post is the contest set up by Colette Patterns around their newest patterns Mabel and Moneta . I can honestly say I LOVE these patterns. Genuinely they are well drafted, simple, involve knit fabric which is always a plus in my book, and have lots of variation possibility. I’ve made 4 Mabels (the skirt) and 3 Monetas (the dress) so I think that says it right there.

Of course when Colette announced they were holding a contest around making a travel wardrobe of Mabels and Monetas I jumped on board! The basic premise is to make 7 days worth of outfits using at least one of each garment and combine with accessories and pictures of the destination to tell your travel story.

I’m going to come right out and say that this project was so much fun! I’ve been sewing up a storm lately and working on making my wardrobe fit my life (Colette’s Wardrobe Architect Project was totally inspiring to me!). Since it turns out that I really love wearing knit dresses and skirts these two patterns fit right into my wardrobe and my life. In fact I am wearing one right now. SO comfy. Feels like pajamas but looks like real clothes.

So, let’s get to the point! For my vacation I am going to Florida. Lauderdale-by-the-Sea specifically. We went several years to visit my grandparents back in college and it is so lovely. Slightly run down timeshare right on the beach, warm water, relaxing days. Oh man, I want to go back even though both my grandparents have since died. It was such a great place to just hang out and relax. Sooo in my fantasy land I am going back!

Here’s a couple establishing landscape pics to help set the scene.

Image

That’s the timeshare hotel (or one nearby. They all looked about like that). RIGHT ON THE BEACH!! Oh man…

Image

The beach. So unlike the Oregon coast where it’s so cold and the water is trying to kill you with sneaker waves and giant logs. In Florida it’s all nice and warm and delightful (I mean, yeah, there are hurricanes but the water itself is gentle!)

Ok one more. This is the view from the balcony.

Image

See?! I wanna go back! Oops, that may be someone’s arm in the side of the picture. I hadn’t noticed that before!

OK, now here are the outfits! I really enjoyed playing dress up and was surprised at how many outfits I could make from those 4 skirts and 3 dresses! And major thanks to my mom who helped take the pictures. Well, first here’s some nice packing for the trip shots! Love me some vintage suitcases!

Image

Image

I mean, who doesn’t want to carry all that awesome luggage?!

Day 1: Airplane outfit! A little more coverage for those chilly airplanes/ports but the flexibility for taking off layers if needed.

Image

Day 2 Walking around Lauderdale, a little shopping time at those tacky tourist boutiques! Comfy and breathable but still classy and doesn’t involve a bikini printed on your shirt.

Image

Day 3 A little walking, Floral Sorbetto with a light cardigan for the air conditioned restaraunts.

Image

Day 4 Maxi Moneta! This is one of my favorites! Long and comfy but pulled together. Good for walking along the shore (holding the ends up) or strolling to get some food. Because I eat on vacation. Alot.

Image

Day 5 Um, duh, Swimsuit time! Perfect paired with a Mabel! Let’s go sit by the pool. And then go to the beach. And then sit in a hammock! (Ok, this is actually every day!)

Image

Oh, and then put on a shirt and shoes to go grab some food!

Image

Day 6 For daytime walking around and perhaps some more shopping/eating.

Image

And night-time grabbing a mojito (or 2! It’s vacation!) at the beachside bar.

Image

 

Day 7 Making the most of the last day…A nice cotton Sorbetto with a Mabel. (Hello! Look how good that makes my butt look! That is another great thing about Mabel. She’s a curve-hugger.)

 

Image

Ahhh…palms…

Image

So there you have it! My awesome fantasy vacation full of comfy knits!

 

 

Leave a Reply

